Unit 40 Board Fills Assistant Principal Posts


Published on May 22 2017 10:40 pm
Last Updated on May 22 2017 10:52 pm
Written by Greg Sapp


The Effingham Unit 40 Board of Education Monday promoted one person from within and hired another from a fellow Apollo Conference school to fill two vacant assistant principal positions.

The Board hired Effingham High School teacher Charlie Schwerman to serve as assistant principal at Effingham Junior High School and hired Mattoon High School teacher McLain Schaefer as assistant principal at Effingham High School.

Schwerman has worked in the vocational education department at EHS for nine years, following two years at St. Anthony High School. The St. Anthony High School graduate has also coached boys JV basketball and football, but also served as 7th grade girls basketball coach at Effingham Junior High for five seasons.

Greg Sapp spoke with Schwerman about the new position following Monday's meeting...

Incoming junior high principal Cody Lewis said, "Throughout Mr. Schwerman's career he has always shown a passion for inspiring others, whether it is his fellow teachers or his students. He has always brought out the best in those around him."

Schaefer has taught the last eight years in the Social Science department at Mattoon High School. He has also been active in other leadership positions in his school and the Mattoon District, including the discipline committee. Prior to his career in educaion, Schaefer served in the Illinois Army National Guard and worked as a Community Service officer in the Charleston Police Department. He has coached track and cross country at both the junior high and high school levels.

Here's Greg's conversation with McLain Schaefer after his hiring Monday night...

Incoming high school principal Kurt Roberts said, "I am excited to start working with McLain. He brings unique experiences that prove beneficial to EHS and its students."

Schaefer and Schwerman will begin their new duties on August 1.

There were many other personnel moves at Monday's meeting. 

Here are those hired: Melanie Connell-Brown as part-time mentor facilitator at the junior high school; Kelsey Weber as part-time mentor facilitator at the high school; Judy Ruffner as summer foods service program cook; Cathy Hille as elementary registration cafeteria worker; Pauline Sapp and Pansy Limes as high school and elementary registration cafeteria workers; Kim Knierim as high school and elementary registration transportation worker; Janet Inman and Denise Willenborg as elementary registration transportation workers; Nancy McClelland as a bus aide; Leland Knierim as bus driver; Kim Knierim as extended school year bus driver; Denise Willenborg as extended school year bus aide; Elizabeth Stevenson and Marcy Zerrusen as kindergarten teachers at the ELC; Kayla Black as a first grade teacher at South Side; Becky Daugherty as an extended school year teacher; Jennifer Castillo as an extended school year speech teacher; Angie Probst, Diana Brown, Julie Hodges and Amber Will as extended school year paraprofessionals; and Lee Painter as a cafeteria monitor at Central Grade School.

Here are those transferred: Jennifer Hall as a special education teacher at the ELC; Christin Hartke as a Math teacher at the junior high school; and Nicole Wear-Maloney as a PE teacher at the ELC.

Several resignations were accepted. Those are from: Jackie Haarmann as EHS Prom sponsor; Valerie Traub as speech pathologist at Central; Megan Tylka as junior high softball coach; Dannette Williamson as high school girls track coach; Ty Totten as junior high assistant softball coach; Stephanie Uebinger as an English teacher at EHS; Terry Lewis an English teacher at the junior high school; and Jill Lobb as a cafeteria monitor at Central.

Leaves of absence were approved for: Holly Dust, Talitha Wiedman and Amy Minor for Family and Medical Leave Act leaves.

Appointments were okayed for: Troy VanBlaricum as high frosh/soph girls basketball coach; Stephanie Mitchell as junior high assistant Scholar Bowl coach; Carol Babbs as high school assistant Scholar Bowl coach; Kelsey Erickson as junior high cross country coach; Rebecca McIntire as high school football cheer sponsor; and Jeff Staser as high school boys basketball coach volunteer.

In other action, the Unit 40 board suspended five students through the end of the 2017-2018 school year. Todd Schaefer abstained on one student, and Patty Russell and Jane Willenborg voted No on one other student.

The Board heard from Assistant Superintendent Rem Woodruff that the District's all funds balance is 10.42% above one year ago, but Woodruff said that's due to the revenue from a recent sale of bonds. In the operating funds, the district's balance is 11.27% below one year ago. Superintendent Mark Doan noted the State owes the District $971,692. Doan said the funds were already earmarked for specific purposes and have been spent; the District is waiting on the State to pay what the District is due.

Board members were visited by Coach Josh Robison and members of the junior high Scholar Bowl squad that finished 25-6 on the season and won their regional. Teacher Stephanie Mitchell was a guest to share her experiences during her appearance on the Jeopardy! television program. Teacher Lee Althoff was on hand to discuss his Rising Star award received from Eastern Illinois University and his "Perfect Pals" program partnering Unit 40 students with adults with special needs.

Jane Willenborg agreed to serve as the district's representative on the Eastern Illinois Area Special Education Governing Board with Angie Byers appointed as alternate. The Board also agreed to make voluntary student accident insurance available at no cost to the District. Also approved was the addition of tennis and soccer camps and a change in the date for the boys high school basketball camp.