Dieterich Addressing Increase in Enrollment


Published on August 18 2015 10:55 am
Last Updated on August 18 2015 10:55 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Dieterich school board members Monday learned that enrollment is up significantly from last school year.

Elementary Principal Kathy Pattenaude reported 302 students enrolled at her building, while Junior-Senior High School Principal Kevin Haarman reported 192 students enrolled. The total of 494 students is up 34 students from a year ago.

Board members learned that the Dieterich district recently received two national recognitions. US News and World Report and Newsweek both recognized Dieterich High School on their "America's Best High Schools" list for 2015.

The Board received a $9,000 donation from HSHS St. Anthony's Memorial Hospital to be used for new technology. Hospital President and CEO Theresa Rutheford was on hand to make the presentation. Superintendent Cary Jackson reported that the funds would be used to purchase Chromebooks to be used in the elementary and junior-senior high school buildings.

In personnel moves, the Dieterich board approved maternity leave requests for Kindergarten teacher Loretta Zane and Art teacher Rhiannon Boehm; accepted a resignation from elementary aide Tracy Koester; accepted a letter of retirement from 4th grade teacher Diane Ogden as of the end of the 2017-18 school year; and hired Dina Jackson as an elementary aide and Jenna Ruholl as dance team coach.

At an earlier special meeting, the Dieterich school board approved the formation of the Dieterich After School Program. The program will be administered by the District and housed in the school complex. The hours of the program are immediately after school until 6pm. Enrollment is complete and is capped at 30 students, but the program is currently accepting "wait list" students. Staff members hired for the after school program are Director Stephanie Fuesting; Assistant Directors Beth Parish and Elaina LaPage; Aides Shanna Adkins, Denise Snow, Samantha Leturno and Brynn Thompson; and Student Aides Alix Hayes, Kayla Holste, Ashley Foreman and Alex Hardiek.

Those identified as part of the development committee that worked on the program were Mike French of the Dieterich Park District, Eric Emmerich of EJ Water Cooperative, Brittny Gipson of the Village of Dieterich, Dieterich Unit 30 school board member Charity Bohnhoff, Dieterich Elementary Principal Kathy Pattenaude, and Dieterich Unit Superintendent Cary Jackson.