Illinois State Police Hosts 37th Annual Awards Ceremony


Published on August 9 2014 6:37 am
Last Updated on August 9 2014 6:37 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Illinois State Police Director Hiram Grau was joined by State Police command staff members to recognize contributions made by sworn and civilian members of the Illinois State Police, government agencies and the public.

The 37th Annual Awards Ceremony recognized 92 men and women for acts of heroism and professionalism.

A Lifesaving Medal was presented to Master Sergeant Ted Rhodes of District 12 Illinois State Police. The Lifesaving Medal is awarded to Illinois State Police personnel who perform actions or who apply techniques that result in saving or sustaining a human life.

The Director's Award of Distinction was presented to Susan Feldhake and Mandy Vergara, both of Effingham. The Director's Award is presented to any individual, agency or group outside the Illinois State Police who gave extraordinary support and assistance to accomplish the goals of the Department.

District 12 Illinois State Police Trooper Ryan Finney and Zone 7 Illinois State Police Special Agent Jeff Kline were nominated for the Officer of the Year Award. Those nominated for the award must display a combination of outstanding contribution in the area of assignment, valor in the line of duty, exceptional knowledge and ability to complete job functions, overall productivity, civic contributions and professional appearance and demeanor.