Huge Turnout for the 10th Annual AHA Film Festival


Published on April 26 2014 11:22 pm
Written by Wayne Moran

A crowd of some 600 people helped the AHA Film Festival celebrate its 10th anniversary Saturday evening.

The event at the Effingham Performance Center featured not only more than 30 short films by this year's multimedia class at EHS, but also a "pregame" showing the best works of the previous 'Festivals. Many of the past class members turned out for the anniversary.

AHA participants on stage as emcee Greg Sapp announces the winners of the 10th Annual AHA Film Festival

This year's AHA winners:

Best Cinematography: Haley Fatheree for "Time"

Best Animation: Kristin Conley for "Refugees"

Best Non-fiction: Danny Austin for "Oak Island"

Best Writing: Samantha Lloyd for "Time"

Best Actor: Logan Weis for "Foosball" and "Xtreme Yoga Explosion"

Best Picture: Haley Fatheree for "Time"

The People's Choice Award, which was voted on by the audience in attendance, went to Aaron Meyers for "Bananatanic", a "tender" story about a gorilla and his banana.

Saturday night also saw the launch of the You Tube Channel, AHA Student Films. The debut for the channel is a music video parody called "Let's Sew", written and directed by Khole Moran and produced by Christian Sager.